MORE News -

MORE Awards at 2014 Winter Party

All photos by Brian Rayford, Amazing party and venue

The following awards were presented at MORE’s 2014 winter party held at The Faux School in Frederick MD February 22, 2014.  Congratulations to each person earning an Award for support of mountain biking and building community in the Mid-Atlantic Region.

Frank Raiti – Scott Scudamore Lifetime Achievement Award for exemplifying the four pillars of MORE; sharing his love of Riding bikes with anyone and everyone, Building trails and specifically adopting Lake Fairfax as his personal trail to showcase for MORE, Serving More through Board of Directors positions and countless volunteer hours and Mentoring volunteers throughout MORE on trails, rides, service and donations.

Teresa Westfall – Silver Spoke Award for managing the inaugural NoVa Epic in 2013. Teresa, worked with Frank Raiti on the MORE BoD’s to plan, organize and host our first VA epic ride showcasing trails at Laurel Hills, Accotink, Wakefield, Colts Neck and Lake Fairfax along the Fairfax County cross county connector and Fairfax City trails. The NoVa Epic will continue MORE and VA land managers improve trails in Virginia for years to come.

Joel Gwadz – Silver Spoke Award for organizing and executing MORE’s bike valet at Tour De Fat (TDF). TDF is a key part of our partnership with New Belgium Brewing (NBB) and we couldn’t have done it without Joel.

James Corbett – Silver Spoke Award for his work on the MoCo Epic for the last 4 years. As the registration team leader, James has one of the toughest jobs at the event. His organizational skills and management style are critical when hundreds of riders show up before the sun hoping to get an early start. James brings with him a team of family members each year who volunteer their time in support of this incredible MORE member. The MoCo Epic is a much better event thanks to his dedication.

Joe Whitehair – Silver Spoke Award for his ongoing work in Frederick. As a member of the Frederick team, Joe drives the conversation forward and keeps the team on task. He brings great ideas to the table and is a true advocate for all forms of bicycling in the area. He was part of the team that brought the first public pump track to that city. He continues to serve as the primary ride leader for the Gambrill Graveyard Shift night ride series. We cannot, of course, forget all the work he puts into the trails in the Frederick Watershed as a crew leader and work day organizer.

Phil VanWorkhoven – Silver Spoke Award for Trail Liaison, worked various events, Epic, Fall Camping Trip, and help with winter party.

Austin Steo – Silver Shovel for building Emmitsburg multi-use trial system and working with land managers to expanding riding opportunities.

Patapsco After Dark Team – Ride Leader of the Year composed of Kevin Seay, Stuart Neuman, Jimmy Kim, Jon Posner, Jon Gdowik, Tony Vachino, Chad Miller, Dan Atkins, Debbie Cleaver, Tracy Posner, Eric Crawford, Jay Williams, Kevin Hughes, Scott Striegel, Todd Plunkett, Ken Lohr, Jon Schultz, John Piorkowski, Mark Levin

Tim O’Donnell – Land Manager of the Year for continuing efforts to conceptualize, plan, approve, build and celebrate Emmitsburg trail system.

Ken Ulman – Government Official of the Year Howard County Executive Ulman has led HoCo to being the most progressive county in Maryland for cyclists. His unwavering support for the partnership between MORE and Howard County Recreation and Parks blazed the trail for the Rockburn Skills Park. Ken Ulman said “let’s do it”, and MORE and Howard County were able to build a not only a killer bike park, but a nationally recognized model of a successful public/private partnership. The bicycle industry, advocacy folks, park and land managers, and riders of all ages and abilities laud Rockburn… And now, most recently, Howard County has approved Rockburn as a start/finish location for the Patapsco Epic! Simply put, none of this would have been possible without the leadership of Ken Ulman.

Club Enduro
(50 Volunteer Hours 15 Rides Led or Swept)

David Kegley
Eric Crawford
Jason Ashmore
Jason Hade
Ken Lohr
Kevin Adams
Kevin Seay
Larry Cautilli
Rob Lowe
Todd Bauer
Tom Newton